2011 Benjamin H. Kean Fellows on the Record


The Benjamin H. Kean Traveling Fellowship in Tropical Medicine is awarded annually to support medical students, house staff and fellows involved in clinical or research electives in tropical areas. The Fellowship is designed to encourage young people to continue their work in tropical medicine and hygiene and recognize their achievements so far.

The Fellowship is named after Benjamin H. Kean (1912-1993), the founder of the tropical medical program and a renowned professor of clinical tropical diseases and public health at Cornell University. In addition to being one of the most respected and admired educators at Cornell, Dr. Kean is known for his work in discovering travelers' disease and for being a physician to many of the best-known personalities of the 20th Century, ranging from artist Salvador Dali to Broadway lyricist Oscar Hammerstein II to writer Sherwood Anderson to the Shah of Iran.

ASTMH presents the Ben Kean Fellowships to strengthen the link between the past accomplishments of the clinicians and researchers in tropical medicine and hygiene and the next generation of leaders in the field. Below, the 2011 Kean Fellows tell us a little about themselves, their work to this point, what they see in their futures and what earning the Kean Fellowship means to them:

Jonathan Abelson, University of Virginia School of Medicine

Jonathan Abraham, Harvard University School of Medicine

Andrew Bouley, Duke University School of Medicine 

Nicholas Carter, Brown University

Whitney E. Harrington, University of Washington

Nick Janusz, University of Manitoba

Brian Long, University of Virginia 

Micah Manary, University of California-San Diego 

Emma Mohr, University of Iowa 

Connor O'Brien, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons 

Jennifer Spicer, Emory University School of Medicine

Carla Valenzuela, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine 

Sarah Ventre, SUNY Upstate Medical University 

Emily Wilkinson, University of Arizona College of Medicine