Dan Bausch Appointed to Second Term Following Resignation of President-Elect

Posted 12 August 2022

The ASTMH Board of Directors on August 11 appointed Daniel G. Bausch, MD, MPH&TM, FASTMH, to serve as 2023 President following the resignation of President-Elect David O. Freedman, MD, FASTMH. Past President Julie Jacobson, MD, DTM&H, FASTMH, will remain engaged as a part of the Society's leadership team in a special presidential advisor role. 
"I have concluded that I do not have the bandwidth to deal with an ASTMH Presidential year in these times that are so troubled for all associations," Dr. Freedman stated in his letter to the Board. "This decision follows my internal information gathering, and then considerable soul-searching subsequent to a personal post-COVID existential reassessment that led to my recent decision to retire from full-time work. ASTMH will remain a time-honored and prestigious organization which remains my professional home as it has been for so many years.” 
"ASTMH respects David's decision," Dr. Bausch said. "Leadership positions in ASTMH or any society require a significant commitment of time and effort. The time is not always right for each person to make such a commitment. We thank him for the contributions he has made, not only as President-Elect, but over the many years that the Society has been—and I know will continue to be—his professional home. I am honored that in light of this unique situation, the Society has put its trust in me to serve as your President for another year. I'm also thrilled that Julie Jacobson has agreed to stay on as part of the leadership team."
Following legal counsel, the appointment necessitated that the Board temporarily suspend the relevant section of the Society's bylaws which, in this particular instance, did not serve the best interest of the Society. 
"The Board will revisit the bylaws at a later time for the needed revision," said CEO Karen A. Goraleski. "In the meantime, the mission and operations continue as usual without interruption as we plan for this year's in-person Annual Meeting. We wish David well in his next chapter, and I thank him for his contributions as President-Elect and his longtime support as a member."