Only members can submit nominations. (Nominees can be members or non-members.) 

Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal

Nominations for the 2024 Clara Ludlow Medal are open.
Only ASTMH members may submit a nomination. However, non-members are eligible to receive a nomination for a medal.
Submit a nomination here by May 29.

"The Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal recognizes honorees for their inspirational and pioneering spirit, whose work represents success despite obstacles and advances the field of tropical medicine."

For a list of previous medalists, scroll down.

Please Note: Members of the Awards Committee cannot nominate anyone for a medal, cannot add a supporting letter or be nominated for a medal. Not being eligible to receive a medal also extends to all sitting members of the Board/Executive Committee. The Society encourages members to look beyond elected leadership in nominating deserving candidates. Former elected leaders are eligible.

The first Society-level medal to be named after a female icon in tropical medicine, the Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal recognizes honorees for their inspirational and pioneering spirit, whose work represents succcess despite obstacles and advances the field of tropical medicine. Clara Southmayd Ludlow (1852-1924) was an entomologist with scientific zeal and tenacity who battled the odds of age, gender and skepticism of women in the sciences to advance the understanding of tropical medicine.

This medal is open to all scientists: MDs and non-MDs, American and international. Recipients of the Ludlow Medal will represent the best of Dr Clara Ludlow’s qualities. The Society's first woman member and first non-MD member, she has been called “a spirit far advanced for her time,” who achieved a Bachelor's, Masters and PhD at a time when few women were able to succeed in academics. Recipients of this highest honor from ASTMH will represent, through their work in clinical tropical medicine, teaching or scientific research in tropical medicine, the best and the brightest in the field. They will be a scientist who is not afraid to challenge giants in the field, as Dr Ludlow did, whose work represents success despite obstacles, and whose life’s work advances understanding in the field of tropical medicine. She was remarkable, talented, unafraid and unapologetic for her work. Recipients of this award will be individuals who persist despite the odds, and contribute to understanding and advancement of tropical medicine.

Read the 2017 Journal article about how the Ludlow Medal was created and named, and its first recipient selected.

Dyann Wirth
Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health
View an introduction of Dr. Wirth by nominator Dr. Julian Rayner.
Chikwe Ihekweazu
WHO Hub for Pandemic and Epidemic Intelligence, Germany
Anna Maria Mandalakas
Baylor College of Medicine
View an introduction of Dr. Mandalakas by nominator Dr. Elizabeth Collins.

Bernard Pecoul
Drugs for Neglected Diseases Initiative (DNDi), Switzerland
View an introduction of Dr. Pecoul by nominator Dr. Peter Hotez.
Rose Fomban Leke
The Biotechnology Centre, University of Yaounde I,

Stephen Hoffman 
Sanaria Inc.
Isabella A. Quakyi
University of Ghana

Njeri Wamae
United States International University, Kenya

Ruth S. Nussenzweig
New York University School of Medicine