American Committee of Molecular, Cellular and Immunoparasitology (ACMCIP)

ACMCIP Objectives

The American Committee of Molecular, Cellular and Immunoparasitology (ACMCIP) is organized under the auspices of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH) and has the following objectives:
  1. To promote an organization that facilitates interactions among scientists who work in the varied disciplines of parasitology, especially in basic laboratory, pre-clinical and translational research, clinician sciences and population-based sciences.
  2. To foster transfer of fundamental discoveries in basic research to applications that improve human health and to promote learning basic science aspects of parasitic diseases from humans afflicted with parasitic diseases.
  3. To sponsor symposia or workshops to promote advanced research in medical parasitology.
  4. To facilitate recruitment and training in the most recent advances in medical parasitology.
  5. To recognize outstanding contributions to parasitology.
  6. To coordinate interactions and activities with other organizations and sponsored meetings to promote the objectives of ACMCIP.

ACMCIP Travel Award for Low and Low-Middle Income (LMIC) Trainees
This ACMCIP sponsored award will provide funding for one LMIC trainee (student or postdoc) to attend the ASTMH Annual Meeting. To be eligible, the trainee must be primarily working and living in a Low or Low-Middle Income Country (LMIC), not based full-time in a US or European research institute. The applicant must be a member of ACMCIP, and submit an abstract to the ASTMH Annual Meeting in the fields of molecular, cellular or immunoparasitology research. The award winner will receive meeting registration and a contribution towards travel, and will be recognized at the ACMCIP Council Meeting.
We are no longer accepting applications for this award.

Award Recipients

Emna Harigua Souiai
Institue Pasteur de Tunis, Tunisia

Abel Nathan
Madurai Kamaraj University, India

ACMCIP Award for Advanced Training
This ACMCIP sponsored award is designed to encourage trainees to explore new parasitological systems, obtain advanced knowledge in cutting-edge research topics and technologies and make new collaborative connections. Applicants must be members of ACMCIP and can use the award to attend a post-graduate level training course in any field of molecular, cellular or immunoparasitology research that is at least one day in duration. To avoid conflicts of interest in selection, ASTMH Pre-Meeting Courses are not courses that can be supported by this award. The award will defray up to $750 of travel expenses and the winner will be recognized at the ACMCIP Business Meeting.
We are no longer accepting applications for this award.

Award Recipients

Vanessa Moraes
Oswaldo Cruz Foundation

Heidi Hillesland
University of Washington

William Trager Award for Basic Parasitology


The William Trager Award, established by the ACMCIP in 2015, recognizes a fundamental breakthrough in molecular, cellular or immunoparasitology. This annual award is named in honor of Prof. William Trager, PhD, a past President of ASTMH who established in vitro culture conditions for Plasmodium parasites and thereby directly enabled almost all of the current fields of basic and applied malaria research. This is not a career recognition award, but is to recognize a recent breakthrough in basic parasitology that has been published, usually with the nominee as corresponding author, between two and fifteen years before the date of nomination. The awardee will be announced during the ASTMH’s Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony and the award will be made at ACMCIP’s Business Meeting. For full biography, read more...

Award Recipients

Stefan Kappe
Center for Infectious Disease Research

2016 Woods Hole Award Winners

January 2015 Newsletter 

2014 MPM Talk Award Winners 

Executive Council Membership

Position Member
President Christine Petersen
Immediate Past President  Julian Rayner
Secretary/Treasurer Julian Rayner
Councilor Manoj Duraisingh
Councilor Michael Ferdig
Councilor for Communications Timothy Yoshino 
International Councilor Christian Happi
Councilor from Trainees Richard Davis

View the ASTMH Clinical Consultants Directory.