



241 18th Street South, Suite 501 Arlington, VA 22202 +1-571-351-5409 FAX +1-571-351-5422 info@astmh.org astmh.org @ASTMH @AITMH

# Alan J. Magill Memorial Fund

The Alan J. Magill Fellowship Fund is in tribute to the late Alan J. Magill, who served as the Society's President in 2014. The fellowship honors his legacy by annually selecting a Magill Fellow who is focused on the latest research and science policy/funding for malaria eradication efforts.

## Benjamin H. Kean Travel Fellowship

The Benjamin H. Kean Travel Fellowship is awarded annually to support medical students involved in clinical or research electives in tropical areas. The Fellowship is designed to encourage young people tocontinue their work in tropical medicine and hygiene and recognize their achievements thus far. The Fellowship is named after Benjamin H. Kean (1912-1993), the founder of the tropical medical program and a renowned professor of clinical tropical diseases and public health at Cornell University.

### **Centennial Travel Award Endowment Fund**

The ASTMH Centennial Travel Award was established in 2003 to commemorate the 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary of its parent society. This anniversary is celebrated with an award that fosters international collaboration in the basic science of tropical infectious diseases. The award also provides physicians and scientists the opportunity for field experience in combination with laboratory studies of parasitic, bacterial or viral infectious diseases in endemic developing countries.

### **Don Krogstad Memorial Fund**

Donald Krogstad, MD, FASTMH, had a distinguished career as a physician-scientist and malaria researcher starting in the 1960's. He was a dedicated member and past president of the ASTMH. Donations will support the Donald Krogstad Award for Early-Career Malian Scientists. The Award provides funding of \$25,000 total for up to two-years for scientists from Mali to pursue research in tropical medicine and/or public health with the goal of improving the lives of Malians.

#### **LMIC Membership Campaign**

Many of our colleagues from LMICs don't have the means to join ASTMH. Help support their membership with a donation so they, too can enjoy all the Society offers.

## James W. Kazura Page Waiver Fund

The James W. Kazura Waiver Fund is in honor of Dr. Kazura, Editor-In-Chief of the Society's journal, the *American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (AJTMH)* from 1998-2013. During his tenure as Editor-In-Chief, Dr. Kazura was committed to helping authors from low-income countries offset the cost of publication fees for papers published in the Society's journal.

# **Martin S. Wolfe Mentoring Award**

The Clinical Group has established an award to honor the life of inspiring mentorship by our friend, teacher and colleague, Martin S. Wolfe, MD, FACP, FASTMH. This award recognizes individuals who have served as exemplary and inspiring mentors. It is presented to a member of the American Committee on Clinical Tropical Medicine and Travelers' Health (ACCTMTH, the Clinical Group) who has been exceptional in guiding the professional growth of careers in tropical and travel medicine. In addition, the award will highlight and celebrate the importance of mentorship within the ACCTMTH and the ASTMH.

#### **Phil Russell Memorial Fund**

Donations to the Phil Russell Memorial Fund will fund ASTMH-led efforts that recognize his numerous contributions and further inspire the lives and careers of the tropical medicine/vaccinology/global health community. These efforts will center around, but may not be limited to the Annual Meeting.

### **Robert E. Shope International Fellowship Fund**

The American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene has established a fellowship to memorialize Robert E. Shope, MD, a past president and beloved member of the Society. The intent of the Robert E. Shope International Fellowship in Infectious Diseases is to provide international training opportunities in arbovirology and emerging diseases for those with an MD, DVM, PhD or related doctoral degree.

#### **Young Investigator Award**

Recognizes the work of young investigators and encourages developing scientists to pursue careers invarious aspects of tropical disease research.