- 1. The meeting was called to order by ACCTMTH President, Pat Joyce, MD, FIDSA, FASTMH
- 2. The 2012 ACCTMTH business meeting minutes were approved.
- 3. Election results: Past-President David Hamer, MD reviewed the 2013 election results:
 - a. 310 votes were cast, from 690 members
 - b. Susan McLellan, MD, MPH, FASTMH elected president for 2014-2015
 - c. Ted Kuhn, MD, FASTMH elected to council for 3 year term.
 - d. Thanks were offered to outgoing Past-President, David Hamer, MD as well as outgoing councilor, Chandy John, MD.
- 4. Annual Report, presented by President Pat Joyce, MD, FIDSA, FASTMH
 - a. Membership has increased, at 609 in 2013 (from 419 in 2006).
 - b. The year's activities included work on:
 - i. List serve
 - ii. CTropMed exam review.
 - iii. The society's Blue Ribbon Panel (BPR)
 - 1. BPR is conducting a formal review of the Accreditation process for Diploma Courses, the Update Course, and the Certification Exam.
 - 2. The structure of the BPR includes an oversight committee and working groups.
 - iv. Discussions also occurring surrounding issues of joint symposiums in 2014, Ben Kean support, and Pre-meeting course.
- 5. Elsevier Clinical Research Award (ECRA) Winners, announced by Pat Joyce, MD, FIDSA, FASTMH
 - a. Annual judged competition for clinically oriented research
 - b. Awards courtesy of Elsevier (\$500 book credit for 1st, \$300 for 2nd, \$200 for 3rd)
 - c. Thanks to the ECRA judges: David Diemert, MD, FRCP(C), LeAnne Fox, MD, MPH, DTM&H, Kent Kester, MD, FASTMH and Susan McLellan, MD, MPH, FASTMH
 - d. Awards announced:
 - i. First place, Remko Schats, Radboud University
 - ii. Second, Sarah Ballard, Johns Hopkins
 - iii. Samuel Tassi Yunga, John A. Burns School of Medicine
 - e. Thanks were given to Elsevier for their contributions to these awards
- 6. Treasurer's report given by Beth Kirkpatrick, MD, DTM&H
 - a. ACCTMTH funds are stable with annual net assets around 80K
 - b. Ben Ken fund during well, particularly in the investments for 2013, which have earned to date 47K. Annual net assets approximately \$1.1-1.2 million
- 7. Kean Fellowship, reviewed by Chandy John, MD
 - a. 38 applications/year from 23 med schools. Approximately 25 are strong
 - b. Current award number (n=20, from 13 med schools) appears to be meeting needs.
 - c. Pursuing methods to determine what happened to past fellows. Are they still involved in ASTMH?

ASTMH ACCTMTH Annual Business Meeting Minutes November 15, 2013

Washington, DC

- d. Kean fellows receive one year complimentary ASTMH membership and are encouraged to attend annual meeting (n=6 for 2013)
- e. Thanks to the 2013 Kean Committee Members (Drs. Coyne, Cummings, Golightly, John, Hawkes, Labeaud, Nyunt, Stauffer) and Staff (Judy DeAcetis, Jaclyn Schiff, Karen Goraleski)
- 8. Courses Committee, reviewed by Christina Coyle, MD and Michael Libman, MD [this includes Update course (currently pre-IDSA), and 3 pre-meeting courses (basic, clinical and GH).]
 - a. Working to establish:
 - i. System for selection of course directions and tenure.
 - ii. Mission statement for all courses.
 - iii. Overall system of running courses.
- 9. Program Committee, reviewed by Robert Gasser, MD.
 - a. Reviewed regular symposia abstracts (n=68) vs. slots (2 sessions, 14 talks)
 - b. Late breaker submissions, n=129 for 7 slots.
 - c. Will request an additional regular session symposium slot.
 - d. Reviewed types of symposia (e.g. those synthesizing a body of knowledge, agendadriven, literature-review, etc.)
- 10. Curriculum Committee-not present
- 11. Certification Exam Committee, Susan McLellan, MD, MPH, FASTMH
 - a. In 2012, 96 took the exam. 82 were on 'diploma' pathway, 14 on 'practice pathway'
 - b. 75% pass rate (first time takers, 76%)
 - c. Pass rate higher for diploma pathway (85%) vs. practice path (57%)
 - d. Next exam in 2014
 - e. New courses added at Baylor and Mt. Sinai
 - f. Thanks to Diploma course committee (Drs. Maguire, McLellan, Freedman, Hurtado, Laughlin, McCarthy, Krogstad, Guerrant, Spira)
- 12. New Business: No new business was discussed.
- 13. Transfer of Authority
 - a. President (2012-2013) Pat Joyce, MD, FIDSA, FASTMH transferred authority to new president 2013-2014 Richard Oberhelman, MD
 - b. Gavel was passed
 - c. President Oberhelman closed the meeting.