# AMERICAN COMMITTEE OF MOLECULAR, CELLULAR AND IMMUNOPARASITOLOGY (ACMCIP)

#### **2024 Executive Council**

#### Member/Position Term Expires

Michael Hsieh, President	2024
Amanda Lukens, President-Elect 2	2024
Mahalia Desruisseaux, Immediate Past-President 2	2024
Usheer Kanjee, Secretary/Treasurer	2024
Scott Lindner, Councilor	
(Annual Meeting Symposia)	2024
Regina Joice Cordy, Councilor	
(Annual Meeting Symposia) 2	2024
Jeffrey Dvorin, Councilor	
(Awards and Pre-Meeting Course) 2	2024
Omar Harb, Councilor for Communications 2	2024
Ayman El-Badry, International Councilor 2	2024
Selina Bopp, Councilor at Large	2024
Sebastian Lourido, Councilor at Large 2	2024
Pedro Gazzinelli Guimaraes, Councilor at Large 2	2024
Jonathan Marchant, Councilor at Large 2	2024
Claudia Rohr, Councilor for Trainees 2	2024
Daniel Sprague, Councilor for Trainees 2	2024

## CHARTER OF THE AMERICAN COMMITTEE OF MOLECULAR, CELLULAR AND IMMUNOPARASITOLOGY

#### **Objectives**

The American Committee of Molecular, Cellular and Immunoparasitology (ACMCIP) is organized under the auspices of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH) and has the following objectives:

- To promote an organization that facilitates interactions among scientists who work in the varied disciplines of parasitology, especially in basic laboratory, pre-clinical and translational research, clinician sciences and population-based sciences.
- To foster transfer of fundamental discoveries in basic research to applications that improve human health and to promote learning basic science aspects of parasitic diseases from humans afflicted with parasitic diseases.
- To sponsor symposia or workshops to promote advanced research in medical parasitology.
- To facilitate recruitment and training in the most recent advances in medical parasitology.
- To recognize outstanding contributions to parasitology.
- To coordinate interactions and activities with other organizations and sponsored meetings to promote the objectives of ACMCIP.
- ACMCIP will meet at least annually under the aegis of the ASTMH Annual Meeting.

#### Membership

Membership will require attendance at the annual business meeting of ACMCIP, as certified by a sign-up sheet circulated at the meeting.

Established investigators will be assessed an annual fee of \$25.00 per year. No fee will be charged to post-doctoral or predoctoral trainees. Membership will continue unless a member is absent from three consecutive annual business meetings. A former member may reinstate membership by attendance at any subsequent annual business meeting of ACMCIP. ACMCIP will establish a fund for voluntary donations to be managed by ASTMH. Funds will be used for activities that further the objectives of ACMCIP, including receptions, annual awards, fellowships and international training opportunities, payment of page charges in the American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene for qualifying articles (eg. editorials, topical reviews, symposium proceedings, cufflng-edge papers, etc.).

#### Organization

There will be an elected leadership in the form of an Executive Council. The membership of the Executive Council should reflect the wide diversity of ASTMH, include a diverse set of disciplines and be interna- tional in scope. There will be an elected Chair. Councilors will be elected to represent the major aspects of molecular, immunological, biochemical, cell biological and clinical field aspects of medical parasitology. There will be an annual business meeting of ACMCIP during the ASTMH Annual Meeting. Administration of ACMCIP will be done in close relationship to the ASTMH office and the chair of the program committee. Subcommittees will be formed to deal with important issues such as awards, training initiatives, fundraising, interfacing with the American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, planning of ACMCIPsupported symposia and workshops at the ASTMH Annual Meeting, to coordinate the selection of speakers from the Woods Hole Molecular Parasitology meeting and the Woods Hole Immunoparasitology meeting to present at the ASTMH Annual Meeting.

#### AMERICAN COMMITTEE ON MOLECULAR, CELLULAR AND IMMUNOPARASITOLOGY (ACMCIP)— (cont.)

**Awards** 

**ACMCIP Exchange Fellowship** 

**Award Recipients** 

2022

Ashish Shukla

Binaras Hindu University

2021

Elizabeth Melisa Villasis Mayuri

Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia

2020

Fehintola Ajogbasile

Redeemer's University

2019

Jessica Schue

Johns Hopkins University

2018

Martha Guevara Becerra

Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia

Anurag Kushwaha

Banaraas Hindu University

#### **ACMCIP Award for Low and Low Middle Income Trainees**

#### **Award Recipients**

2023

Ines Ngoh

University of Bemenda

2022

Laty Thiam

Institut Pasteur de Dakar

2021

Diogo Valadares

University of Minas Gerais and University of Iowa

2020

Laura Baquedano Santana

Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia

2019

Kritika Chaddha

Jawaharlal Nehru University

Godwin Kwakye-Nuako University of Cape Coast 2018

Syed Mian

Jawaharlal Nehru University

2017

Rogger Carmen

Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia

2016

Emna Harigua Souiai

Institue Pasteur de Tunis, Tunisia

2015

Abel Nathan

Madurai Kamaraj University, India

**ACMCIP Award for Advanced Training** 

**Award Recipients** 

2023

Wenqiao He

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

2022

Brandon Mercado-Saavedra

University of Cambridge

2020

Lisa Gibbs University of Utah

2019

Mary Lynn

University of South Carolina Arnold School of Public Health

2018

Ruwandi Kariyawasam U

niversity of Toronto

2017

Camila Coelho

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Maria Luisa Simoes

Johns Hopkins University

2016

Vanessa Moraes

Oswaldo Cruz Foundation

2015

Heidi Hillesland

University of Washington

#### AMERICAN COMMITTEE ON MOLECULAR, CELLULAR AND IMMUNOPARASITOLOGY (ACMCIP)— (cont.)

#### William Trager Award for Basic Parasitology

#### **Award Recipients**

#### 2023

Jonathan Marchant Medical College of Wisconsin

#### 2022

Laura Knoll

University of Wisconsin-Madison

#### 2021

Manoj Duraisingh

Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

#### 2020

David Fidock

Columbia University Medical Center

#### 2019

David Horn University of Dundee

#### 2018

Elizabeth Winzeler University of California, San Diego

#### 2017

Boris Striepen University of Pennsylvania

#### 2016

Stefan Kappe

Center for Infectious Disease Research

### ACMCIP Take-Off Award (formerly Junior Investigator Award) in Parasitology Research

#### **Award Recipient**

#### 2023

Sachel Mok Columbia University

#### 2022

Jill Weatherhead National School of Tropical Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine